Abyss

We are all stuck in a sea of faceless masses all screaming out to be heard.

Waving their arms wildly in an attempt to gain any shred of attention.

Their fists clenched,

Their brows furrowed,

Their hopes raised,

But they are drowning in a sea of delusion.

They will never be heard.

I don’t want to be heard.

I want to be seen.

I want to be understood.

I too am sinking in the sea of delusion.

Bobbing along with everyone else among the waves.

The salt stings my eyes as the waves grow taller and taller trapping me in its embrace.

My breath catches in my throat as my head is shoved beneath the surf.

My lungs fill with the sea water.

My eyelids close.

I sink down towards the abyss.

Never to be found again.

Leave a Reply

