Leave

Leave me.

Leave me on that bench under the tree where we had our first kiss.

Leave me leaning against the brick wall with my hands covering my face trying to conceal my tears.

Leave me drowning in my own memories, thinking back to my home that never was.

Your arms were my castle walls protecting me from reality.

You always kept the armies at bay.

But now they march steadily toward me threatening to take away what little I have left.

The only treasure that remains with me is the way your laughter would always fill an empty room.

The way your hands would twitch when you wanted to feel my palm resting on yours.

The way you looked at me after kissing my forehead.

Please don’t take these treasures away.

Just leave me be.

One thought on “Leave”

Leave a Reply

