Marbles

Mouth full of marbles

Throat full of silenced cries

Nerves frayed

Eyes widened

Breath shortened

I open my mouth, but no words come out. Only marbles tumble down to the ground. Only marbles fall on the ears of those listening. They all look confused. Am I even making a noise?

I try again. Two more marbles leap from my strained jaw and the sound of their crash on the cool tile floor is deafening. My ears won’t stop ringing. My mouth closes. The marbles lay still on my tongue, threatening to choke me if I attempt to speak once more.

Smile forced

Hand waved

Back turned

Heartbeat slowed

Safety regained

Leave a Reply

